The Netherlands Library Study Tour

Now that I have started with this blogging I really feel I ought to share some of my professional development activities that I’ve enjoyed. I joined a tour organised by the CILIP’s Career Development Group of libraries in theNetherlandswhich took place in April and was definitely enlightening. The programme devised was enticing, which included:

  • the medical library of Academisch Medisch Centrum, Universiteit van Amsterdam;
  • AmsterdamCentral Public Library;
  • Library and information service of Koninklijk Instituit voor de Tropen (KIT) (Royal Tropical Institute);
  • PeacePalaceLibrary: The international law library;
  • and the Koninklijke Bibliotheek (The National Library of theNetherlands).

All proved to be rewarding in their offerings, and inspiring. I am writing a comprehensive article about the tour which will include highlights, a few of which include a library I wanted to pack up and bring back home with me; excellent examples of digital libraries; and a very special collection which required extra special supervision. I will write a post on this blog about each library visit giving a bit more insight.

Leave a comment