CPD Thing 10: Qualifications

Graduate Traineeship

I was able to do a traineeship straight after completing my first degree. It was at a law library. The role was a library assistant and I worked in a small team. This proved to be ideal as I had a very diverse role and was able to learn about the operations and functions of a library. The traineeship involved working on the front desk, dealing with enquiries, processing stock, housekeeping and other ad hoc duties. We were also able to go on visits to other libraries and training on legal research. I was able to determine very early on that I liked working in a library and was keen to join the profession and so I applied to do my Masters following the traineeship.

 Masters

My degree was in Library and Information studies and provided a wide scope about the profession and gave me a solid foundation. I was able to establish areas of interest and have explored these since completing the degree. I have also drawn upon many aspects of the degree as part of my first professional post.

Leave a Reply

