CPD 23 Thing 4 – Current awareness: Trying to keep up to date without losing my mind

Twitter

I started out my venture into the social media sphere with Twitter and have spent much of my time trying to get to grips with it without getting overwhelmed. My purpose has been to use it for professional reasons and to find out about things not readily advertised anywhere else. I have found out about interesting events like LibCamp. It has also fed my curiosity which seems to be ideal use of Twitter and I have found many enlightening writings and films some of which seem to come just when I need it.

 

RSS

This is one of those tools I have always had lingering in the background but have yet to make regular use of it. Professional reasons should be good incentive. Starting out on this course I have found lots of really interesting blogs and sites therefore this tool should serve a useful purpose for following these.

 

Storify

This looks like an interesting tool will need to explore further along with other tools that were mentioned at the recent London LibTeach Meet. The examples given were “Jog the Web”, “Symbaloo”, “Scoop it”, “Diigo”, and “Netvibes”.

Leave a Reply

